LCD unit

This is the place to show off your felix printer hacks and improvements.
Post Reply
Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

LCD unit

Post by Mayhem » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:50 pm

Is it possible use different lcd on felix?

Like this one:http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3D-Printer-RA ... 2ed0542b8d

The felix unit is quite expensive whit shipping and it takes along time to arrive :(
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

satoer
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by satoer » Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:45 am

I'm using that one. Nice graphical display instead of the character ones. After some soldering and tweaking of the Felix RAMPS it works fine.

If you're using a RAMPS (that came with Felix 1.5) like me:
To print stand-alone, you need to solder a diode on the board.

And to connect the display to the board you need to de-solder / remove a female 8 pin header and replace it with a male version on the RAMPS.

Also you need to install a custom Marlin firmware. The Felix version has this display settings stripped out of it or it was from before this display. I can share my firmware if you like, but it's tuned for the Felix 2.0

If you want to use this display with a Felix electronics board... than I don't know if it works.
My Felix 1.5 printed designs on Thingiverse
E3D V6 Hot end upgrade for your Felix
Tweezer bracket for your Felix
Led bar upgrade for your Felix

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem » Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:26 pm

I have felix board so i think ill order the felix lcd :(
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

vedat
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 6:31 pm

Post by vedat » Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:00 pm

A simple answer to your question, yes. But I guess someone’s beat me to it. Not so long ago I wanted to do this and it worked perfectly on the first try. I didn’t have to change the firmware which I suspected I would have to but it ended up working like a charm on the very first try. Wish you luck in this case. I suppose the world is free and open for dreamers like us and I’m not being sarcastic here, I like people who can think of new possibilities.

satoer
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by satoer » Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:07 pm

Are you sure you used the graphical display on the Felix-board? And not the basic 4 line character display?
Does the display look like this?:
Image
I find it hard to belive this works out of the box without any firmware modification.
My Felix 1.5 printed designs on Thingiverse
E3D V6 Hot end upgrade for your Felix
Tweezer bracket for your Felix
Led bar upgrade for your Felix

3dhuynh
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:01 am

Post by 3dhuynh » Mon May 12, 2014 3:50 am

Satoer,
Would you please share the firmware that you modified to run with LCD.
I'm also have Felix version 1.5
also, would you kind to provide some information or instruction how to ... I'm newbie to 3D printer

Thanks Satoer,

satoer
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:00 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by satoer » Sat May 24, 2014 10:36 am

Hi,

First you need to replace this female header with a male on the Felix supplied RAMPS board:
header.jpg
If you want to print stand alone, you need to solder a diode on the RAMPS over here (Respect the direction of the diode) :
diode.jpg
And install the graphic display enabled firmware (Marlin):
Felix2.0-e3D-GraphDispFirm[V1].zip
Firmware
(2.94 MiB) Downloaded 100 times
Warning:
This is my personal firmware, tweaked for my needs. This is a Felix 2.0 firmware. If you use this on a Felix 1.5 you need to Recalibrate the Z steps / mm (the 2.0 has a new spindle). Also the thermistor settings are different (I use a e3D hotend). You need to change the thermistor settings and lower the max temp in the Configuration.h file.
My Felix 1.5 printed designs on Thingiverse
E3D V6 Hot end upgrade for your Felix
Tweezer bracket for your Felix
Led bar upgrade for your Felix

3dhuynh
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 4:01 am

Post by 3dhuynh » Tue Sep 09, 2014 4:10 pm

Thanks Satoer,
I haven't try yet, I need to buy extra Ramps 1.4 in case I toss the Ramps.
Have you ever try the driver board DRV8825 ?
Image

Thanks for the firmware

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem » Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:55 pm

i have extra ramps lcd unit and wondering will it work on felix 2.0 board? anyone tried it?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ramps-adapter-R ... 5412955f56
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

Mayhem
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Mayhem » Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:21 pm

Can someone take photo from the back of the felix display so that i can see the pin order and another when it is connected to the felix 2.0 board.
Felix 2.0----> 3.0
V4 hot end
Simplyfy 3D
Kisslicer
Autodesk fusion 360

Post Reply