My own printer design, and it´s huge! Need feedback

This is the place to show off your felix printer hacks and improvements.
Legion 2.3

My own printer design, and it´s huge! Need feedback

Post by Legion 2.3 » Sun Aug 03, 2014 1:59 pm

Hello folks

I want to build my own, self designed 3d-printer, based on Felix-parts (codename: MOAP)

First of all, I´m (not yet) and engineer, I´m "just" a mechatronic, so I have some knowledge about mechanics and elektronics. I´m sure this design isn´t perfect, and it will never be because I can only use printed parts (nothing machined) and parts that can be bought at shops.
I found out quite a lot things about 3d-printing in the past by reading many articles and forum posts and by building and using my Felix 3.0, but I also know that there´s much I still don´t know or fully understand, so I still have some questions and I hope you can give me some answers.

My goals were the following:
- It should be buildable without milling and drilling ( I neither have access to cnc-mills nor have a workshop in the basement)
- Larger build space (approx. 400x400x400, maybe taller)
- ball screw drives to eliminate ringing and to increase the possible acceleration, jerk and printing speed
- Bowden extruder for a lightweight carrier

Here is a render of the current, early development stage:
Render 1.JPG
Overview
As you can see, I´ve chosen an X-Y-gantry-design. Due to the higher weight of the bed, a moving print bed like the Felix has wouldn´t work.

I wanted to use Item aluminum profiles. Unfortunately, Item only sells to companies, so I have to buy them from another supplier (SMT Montagetechnik)

I want to use a rod bearing system. These are 16mm rods with Hiwin linear ball bearings. Every bearing and every driving nut will be clamped, so it´s easy to assemble.
I want to use 2 bearings per rod, I hope to get an extremely stiff bearing system this way.

The Y-Axis should be driven by 2 stepper motors. That leads me to