Page 1 of 1

Fan connections?

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:26 pm
by jjlink
Looking at the board layout the fan connections for single extruder compared to the connections for the dual extruder don't appear to make much sense. There are HEAD, MAIN, and OPT connections on the board. With the dual extruder they have you tie the two extruder head fans together, and then skip the MAIN connection on the board, and use the OPT connection for the main fan? Anyone know why?

Re: Fan connections?

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:47 am
by Dreide
The labeling does not make too much sense, but the wiring does.
"HEAD" is the PWM controlled output which is most useful for the air duct fans (object cooling).
"MAIN" is a 5V and "OPT" is a 12V output (both voltages fixed). Some people use OPT also for the single extruder machine just to get better cooling of the extruder.

Re: Fan connections?

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:38 pm
by alanh
Is there anything you have to do to get OPT working, or is constantly outputting 12V ?

As it doesn't seem to be outputting anything here.

Re: Fan connections?

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:51 pm
by Dreide
Pavel-NS wrote: where is it possible to see more info about wiring?
AFAIK, there is no official documentation of the board. It looks like it is based on RAMPS1.4 though, which might help with reverse-engineering.
Pavel-NS wrote: some where here I heared that 5V in "MAIN" might be converted to 12V by desoldering some resistor. It is very interesting, where is situated specs and misc tech information to any felix main board?
Just had to do it, because my 12V output died. See viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1652#p8390.
Pavel-NS wrote:Other and main question - is it possible to regulate fan in "HEAD" from 0V to 12V?
I send M106 S0 and M106 s255 and U was changin from 8.18V to 9.74V; it is not good - air flow almost didn't change.
It is strongly needed to turn off the airduct on the first layer at all.
Is it possible to do? Is anyone use manageable airduct fan on Felix
Yes, HEAD is the output which can be controlled via software. The commands you were using are correct, so something seems to be broken. With M106 S0, the fan should definitely not be running at all.